Open Unionism

Icon

A forum to discuss new ideas and perspectives on Unionism…

Migrating Open Unionism…

I’m going to migrate Open Unionism to a self-hosted wordpress site over the next day or two. I also felt it was right to step away from the wordpress url and establish this blog as a standalone .com

So here’s the link to the new site. It’s a work in progress – I’m still adding to it and do the polishing job (eg. on the post excerpts on the frontpage need work), but I’d really appreciate feedback on it. Being free to edit the CSS means I can incorporate comment and change the site to make it work better for users.

I really felt this blog needed a facelift and a refocus on the content. I recently revamped bobballs and have been impressed by the capacity of the self-hosted version to better organise and deliver dynamic content.

For example, wordpress.com is driven through widgets. As you can see this blog is now getting very widget-heavy and my feeling is that this is crowding out the posted content. The new theme I’m adapting should really showcase the insight that bloggers here are producing whilst also making it more presentable / accessible for the user.

The range of plugins I can use on a self-hosted site means I can tailor and discretely arrange additional functionality. Take the bobballs blog – I can more easily embed podcasts / pics / audio than is presently the case with wordpress.com.

I’ll aim to put a redirection in place by Wednesday of this week, so you’ll automatically be sent to the new blog site.  If you subscribe to this blog via a reader you may need to update the RSS.

Appreciate your patience while this occurs, and of course all feedback is welcome.

Filed under: Uncategorized,

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Northern Ireland and Northern Ireland, Editor. Editor said: Migrating Open Unionism…: http://wp.me/pB6cI-pH […]

  2. owenpolley says:

    Personally I think it looks very professional.

  3. thedissenter says:

    Are you moving over to the new site. Newer posts on the wordpress one here. Bit confused.

    • bobballs says:

      Will complete the move over next 48 hours. A redirection will channel everyone to the new site automatically.

      Felt it was important not to put the kaibosh on posts in the interim. But take your point, all will be tied up very soon.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other subscribers

Open Unionism bookmarks

Our facebook group page

Party histories

Here's the history of the UUP.

Here's the history of the DUP.

Slideshow app for UUP & DUP flickrstreams

Follow this link for a great slideshow from the UUP flickrstream.

Follow this link for a great slideshow from the DUP flickrstream.

UK Parliament on flickr